Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions for hot air balloon, airplane rides and skydiving near Springfield

I’m sure you have a few questions about your upcoming adventure. We’ll try to answer a few of your frequently asked questions here. If there are any questions we haven’t answered, give us a call/text at 417-SKYDIVE (417-759-3483).

General Frequently Asked Questions

What happens if the weather is bad on the day that we’re scheduled?

We understand that weather can be unpredictable, especially in Missouri. We check the weather forecast daily throughout the week. If bad weather is forecasted we will call/text you the day before to reschedule.

Do I need to make reservations in advance?

We do require a reservation in advance to save your spot. You can make reservations online through the book now options or give us a call at 417-SKYDIVE (417-759-3483).

Tandem Jump – Book Now
Solo Jump – Book Now
Balloon Ride – Book Now

What should I wear?

Wear something that you will be comfortable in. If you get cold easily then bring a long sleeve shirt or jacket. Wear tennis shoes or sneakers. Don’t wear open toe shoes, sandals or flip flops.

Do I need to bring anything?

We provide all of the gear/equipment that you will need for your adventure. Please bring a photo ID and a copy of your reservation (on your phone is fine also.)

What if I am not able to make my reservation?

If you are not able to make your reservation we can reschedule with 12 hours notice. If you have to cancel the same day as your reservation we do charge a $50 rebooking fee to pay for the pilots and instructors that were scheduled at your time slot.

Skydiving Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to go skydiving in Missouri?

The cost of skydiving varies depending on what type of skydive you are doing. The average cost of Tandem Skydiving in Missouri is $235. Tandem skydiving here at Flight Providers starts at $209. There are different options and prices for Solo Skydiving.

How old do you have to be to skydive in Missouri?

According to the United States Parachute Association all skydivers must be 18 years old or older. This includes both tandem and solo skydivers. Even with parental consent we can’t let anyone jump under the age of 18.

Can I skydive solo the first time?  

Yes, you can Solo Skydive your first time. There are a couple different solo skydive options.

Is there a weight limit for skydiving?

All skydivers must be 230lbs or less. This includes both tandem and solo skydivers.

Can I wear my own camera?

According to the United States Parachute Association(USPA) skydivers must have 200 jumps before wearing a camera. This applies for both tandem and solo skydivers. Because of this rule you aren’t allowed to bring your own camera on the jump.

Will skydiving change your life?

Absolutely it will! Skydiving gives you a very different perspective. There is something about jumping out of an airplane that gives you a different perspective. The view is unlike anything you have ever seen before.

Balloon Rides Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to go on a balloon ride in Missouri?

The average cost of a balloon ride in Missouri is around $350. Balloon rides here at Flight Providers are $299 per person.

How old do you have to be to go on a balloon ride in Missouri?

All riders must be 18 years old or older. Even with parental consent we can’t let anyone ride under the age of 18.

How many people can go in the balloon?

We can take 3 average sized people up in the balloon at a time. If someone in your group is near the maximum weight of 230lbs then we can only take 2 people up at a call.

How do I schedule a balloon ride in Missouri?

Balloon rides are difficult to schedule in advance because of how unpredictable the weather is. When you purchase your ticket you get added to a waiting list. When a nice weather day is forecasted we start texting/calling people on the list. We go down the list in order of purchase.

Airplane Rides Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to go on an airplane ride / discovery flight?

The airplane discovery flights are $99 for 30 minutes and $199 for an hour.

What is included in an airplane ride / discovery flight?

All flights include a brief introduction to basic flight principles. This will give you an idea about what to expect in the air. All flights begin with an aircraft inspection to ensure the aircraft is ready for flight.

Can I fly the airplane?

Yes! You can take the controls and fly the airplane if you want to. One of our Certified Flight Instructors will be there with you.

How old do you have to be to go on an airplane ride in Missouri?

All riders must be 18 years old or older. Even with parental consent we can’t let anyone ride under the age of 18.

Does an airplane ride / discovery flight count as a flight lesson?

Yes! Since you are riding with a Certified Flight Instructor your flight will count towards your Private Pilot license. We can talk more about getting your pilot’s license if you are interested.